The Band

We are your neighbors, friends and colleagues.

Where can you find world-class music in a family-friendly atmosphere that’s free to one and all? Look no further than Cville Band. Our team of volunteers and Music Directors share their skills and experience in a range of styles to entertain the whole family. From classical and marches, jazz and Broadway tunes, to movie scores and rap from Hamilton. Our ensembles add more variety to enjoy in person with performances in your schools, community centers, breweries and other more intimate settings.

Charlottesville has changed a lot since 1922, and so have we. Our members represent many different neighborhoods, age groups, professions and backgrounds. We find common ground through the power of music and can’t wait to share it with you.


Music Directors

Steve Layman
Music Director
Gary Fagan
Assistant Music Director
Charles Torian
Assistant Music Director


Seven different ensembles give our musicians the opportunity to play in smaller groups and explore their own unique sounds. These eclectic teams perform a variety of styles such as Dixieland, Celtic folk tunes, waltzes, marches and more. Perfect for spaces like outdoor stages at vineyards, the ensembles help bring Cville Band’s big sound to smaller venues. If you’d like to book an ensemble for your event, please contact us.

Centennial Music Scholarship

To help celebrate our 100th season, we endowed a new scholarship program for young musicians in Charlottesville City and Albemarle County public schools. Seventh and eighth graders who play trumpet, trombone, French horn, euphonium, tuba, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, oboe, saxophone, or percussion can apply for scholarships that provide free, once weekly 30-minute lessons throughout the school year. At year’s end, scholarship recipients get to perform a piece with the Band at one of our live concerts. We are proud of our inaugural class of 9 winners for 2022-2023!

Solo Competition

We love to encourage and support talented young musicians in our area, and the James W. Simmons Solo Competition gives local high school students the chance to shine. Each year the winner performs as a featured soloist in one of the Band’s major concerts and is awarded the Rev. Dr. Genevieve Murphy Scholarship for Young Musicians. This scholarship, in the amount of $2,000, will go towards higher education costs at the winner’s choice of college or university. Past winners have been accomplished players from five area high schools specializing in flute, clarinet, trumpet, trombone or saxophone. 

To download information and audition requirements, please click here.

2024 Winner

Annie Meng

Albemarle High School

Annie Meng is a senior at Albemarle High School and has been studying bassoon with Suzanne Pattison since 2017.  She is the principal bassoon in the Youth Symphony of Central Virginia under the direction of Foster Beyers as well as in Albemarle High School’s Wind Ensemble led by Andrew LaPrade.  She was also the Drum Major for Albemarle’s marching band this past year.  Annie has participated in multiple District and Regional ensembles, and won the honorable mention award for YOCVA’s concerto competition in 2022.  Over the past few years, Annie has received Superior ratings in solo performance at the CMTA music festival.  Outside of music, she enjoys painting, spending time with her friends, and playing with her cat.  Annie plans on continuing to play the bassoon while studying math in college next year.


2023 Lizzie Mayhood | Albemarle High School 2022 Samuel Hall | Albemarle High School 2020 Reid Dodson | Charlottesville High School 2019 Rose Bittle | Albemarle High School 2018 Jason Dech | Fluvanna County High School 2017 Charlotte McDonald | Charlottesville High School 2016 Maggie Archer | Louisa County High School 2015 Chris Hays | Charlottesville High School 2014 Geneva Knight | Charlottesville High School 2012 Marie Fernandez | Monticello High School 2011 Samantha Marshall | Monticello High School 2010 Anthony Poehailos | Monticello High School

Board of Directors

Current Band Members

Board of Directors Greg Harris, President & Treasurer; Renee Vollrath, Vice President; Gregory Alexander, Secretary; Eric R. Allison; Cheryl Gomez Barber; Ellen P. Donlon; Janelle Ellis; Kerry Finnegan; LaVahn Hoh; Dave Johnson; John LaPrade; Leo Mallek; Susan Payne; Michelle Schroeder; William D. Tucker, III; Stephen R. Layman, ex officio

Music Director Stephen R. Layman Flute Stacy Bolling, Selena Daniels, Katie McCartney, Janet Onnie, Mary Reitsma,  Christine Steele, Mary Ann Stumbaugh, Jessie Tosto E Flat Clarinet Doug Nash B Flat Clarinet Greg Alexander, Emma Allen, Cait Ardito, John Blum, Alden Dent, Ellen Donlon, Cheryl Gomez Barber,  Burt Marks, Bob Notari, Fred O’Bryant, Benjamin Paquette, Karen Purnell, Lynda Sawyer, Michelle Schroeder, Jennifer Schultz, Marvin Scoggin, Rachel Sutphin Alto Clarinet Pam Evans Bass Clarinet Sharon Dudley, Patricia Sutker Oboe James Prodan, Charles Torian Bassoon Billy Faggart, Cathy Grant Alto Saxophone James Huneycutt, Robert LaRue, Ken Matthews, Louie Nicastro, Bonnie Slater Tenor Saxophone David Barredo, David Moody, Baritone Saxophone Brian Hamshar 

French Horn Allison Alexander, Becky Allen, Eric Allison, Deborah E. Buchanan, Ann Eichelberger, Janelle Ellis, Erin Richter Baritone Horn Mike Gottier, Kerry Finnegan Trumpet Jerry Barber, Sammy Barnes, Jon Botts, Steve Brecker, James Brown, Sam Campbell, Brittany Deacon, Harry Decker,  Dennis Fronheiser, Joe Meador, Matthew Morrill, Jeff Vaughan, Mike Watkins Trombone James Allison, Frank Boone, Scott Colley, Robert Graham, Burton Hable, Dave Johnson, John LaPrade, Stephen Sanford, Renee Vollrath Tuba Mike Allen, Matt Black, Tryon Bauer, Basil Istwany, Bob Kammauff, Henry Taylor String Bass Janice Wood Percussion Robbyn Callahan, Lisa Cook, Gary Fagan, Charles Harris, Greg Harris, John Lyon,  Brian Socolow, Theresa Torian, David Youel Honorary Members David Goodwin, Gary B. O’Connell, Leo Mallek, Wick McNeely


We are The Charlottesville Band: local musicians enriching community life through excellence in musical performance and education since 1922. Through our free concerts, varied repertoire, and partnerships, we provide our members and audiences with experiences that entertain, uplift, and inspire.

The Charlottesville Band unites people through a love of creating and performing music. We strive to build a diverse and inclusive culture where all musicians can perform, all audiences can listen, and all people can grow through the expression and enjoyment of music and performance.